Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

AudreyWaitTitle: Audrey, Wait!

Author: Robin Benway

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Razorbill

Pages: 320

Rating: 3.75/5

When her ex writes a break-up song about her that rockets up the charts, Audrey is suddenly famous–she can’t go out without being mobbed by fans and paparazzi. Readers can take a wild ride with Audrey as she makes headlines, confronts her ex on MTV, and shows the world who she really is. This irresistible, fast-paced novel has a totally hot new paperback cover! Its the song everyone’s singing. And its about her! But for Audrey, becoming famous overnight equals total, life-changing disaster. . .

I had heard plenty of great things about this series before I decided to grab it from the library. There were blurbs from authors I loved on the back, singing the book’s praises. It sounded like an interesting enough premise, and I was in the mood for some fun contemporary for a change. And, while I don’t think it’s as amazing as I’ve heard, it certainly got better the farther in I got.

The beginning didn’t do a good job of keeping my interest initially, though. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to continue reading the adventures of Audrey, who I found fairly annoying. She was quite dramatic and not always the nicest girl. I wasn’t too interested in reading about her or her equally, or even more, annoying best friend. I didn’t really care if she ended up with the guy she liked, who seemed like a sweet guy who didn’t need to be stuck with such an annoying girl. As the story progressed and Audrey began was forced to deal with the fallout of the “Audrey, Wait!” song, Audrey became a bit more sympathetic. I’m not saying I want to become best friends with her after her personal growth, but I wouldn’t mind knowing her in real life, and I was actually happy for her when she got a decent ending to her story.

There was certainly a lot of humor in this book. Sometimes the humor seemed like it was trying a bit too hard, but for the most part it was just that – funny. Once I got over my initial annoyance, the story, and the humor, was decently interesting. There was a lot of craziness that probably wouldn’t happen in real life, but I didn’t mind too much because it was funny. Maybe that seems like a thin excuse, but sometimes it’s nice to just enjoy reading about funny things without worrying about how realistic they are.

Though I think the characters aren’t always fleshed out and kind of annoying, in the end I thought this was a decent book. I think I’ll probably pick up some more of Robin Benway’s books in the future.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

Leave a Reply

