New Reads (January and February 2013)

NewReads

There are plenty of books coming out in the first two months of the new year – too bad I’ll probably be pretty busy and probably won’t have a lot of time to read. Oh well, here are the books coming out in January and February.

DeadandBuried Splintered

The Dead and Buried by Kim Harrington (January 1, 2013)

I preferred the original cover for this standalone (I’m pretty sure, anyway) book from the author of the Clarity books. This sounds like a creepy (in a good way) book that would be a nice, easy read, so I’ll be happy to read this as soon as possible, especially since it’ll give me a chance to see how Kim Harrington does with a new character and story.

Splintered by A.G. Howard (January 1, 2013)

This is a twisted take on Alice in Wonderland, which could either go horribly wrong or amazingly, twistingly right – I really hope it’s the latter, if only because the cover is cool.

JustOneDay ShadesofEarth

Just One Day by Gayle Forman (January 8, 2013)

Gayle Forman wrote the emotionally-draining (in the best way possible) If I Stay and Where She Went, so I would probably read this book no matter what, but the premise sounds interesting enough, which makes it even better. At the same time, though, I’m worried I’m going to go into it with overly high expectations, so I’ll try to read it with as open a mind as possible, so if it’s only good and not amazing I won’t be disappointed.

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis (January 15, 2013)

This is the concluding chapter of the Across the Universe trilogy – I was underwhelmed by the first book and emotionally overwhelmed by the second, so I’m cautiously hopeful that this book will at least be in between the first two, although I really hope that this book will continue the upward trend of awesomeness from Beth Revis. Even if they redesigned the covers – sure, it’s a decent cover, but since I liked the original designs for the first two, I prefer those and wish the hardcover for this book would at least have been designed the same way.

TheArchived Boundless

The Archived by Victoria Schwab (January 22, 2013)

I thought Victoria Schwab’s 2011 debut, The Near Witch, was a decent book, and this has a cool premise, so I’m hopeful that Schwab will only get better with each book. And, even if she doesn’t, her covers so far have both been awesome, and that’s a record that’s more likely to continue.

Boundless by Cynthia Hand (January 22, 2013)

This is another concluding book for a trilogy, but in this case I loved both of the first two books, which just adds the pressure for this last book. I think it’ll have a college setting, though, which should be interesting. I haven’t really bothered with reading the summary much because both of the summaries for the first two books have made me uninterested in the series, but I luckily ignored them – there really should be someone else writing the summaries. I’m more hopeful that this will be awesome, though, and I’m going to go ahead and say that I probably won’t be.

ShimmerofAngels UnravelMe

A Shimmer of Angels by Lisa M. Basso (January 29, 2013)

This is a 2013 debut so I don’t know much about it. I recently went through a bunch of 2013 debuts and just added a bunch that looked interesting, since I plan on trying for 12 debuts again. This has a mildly interesting-sounding premise and an awesome cover, but I recently read a so-so review, but it sounded positive enough to at least check it out.

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi (February 1, 2013)

This is the sequel to Shatter Me, a uniquely-written, slightly-underdeveloped-dystopia from 2011. I hope this book will improve upon the weaker points of the first book and will retain the interesting things, so we’ll have to see…

PerfectScoundrels Scarlet

Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter (February 5, 2013)

This is the third book in the Heist Society series, which tend to be entertaining, quick reads. I mean, how can a series about globe-trotting teenage thieves not be at least mildly interesting, especially in the hands of Ally Carter, the author of the Gallagher Girls series? And I love seeing the reflections of the sunglasses in all the covers.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (February 5, 2013)

I just read Meyer’s Cinder this past week, and though I wasn’t as impressed by it as many people seem to be, the story itself seemed like it could be interesting enough to at least check out the second book. My main issue with the first book was that I figured out most or all of the big twists and reveals in the first few chapters, so I was practically yelling at the protagonist to figure it out, and when she did I was just rolling my eyes that it took her so long to do so. So, if this book gets rid of that, I might continue onto the third book…

Adobe Photoshop PDF MindGames

The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding (February 12, 2013)

This is another 2013 debut and is about the daughter of a New York Times bestselling author or something along those lines, which is good enough for me.

Mind Games by Kiersten White (February 19, 2013)

This is the new series from the author of the Paranormalcy series. Paranormalcy is a light, very-humorous paranormal series – this book, however, sounds drastically different in the best way possible, is about sisters and their complicated relationship, and has such a cool cover – needless to say, I can’t wait to read this book.

MadnessUnderneath

The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson (February 26, 2013)

This is the sequel to The Name of the Star, a ghost story that had, like other Maureen Johnson books, a mostly uninteresting protagonist and an interesting supporting cast. The first book revolved around a Jack the Ripper-esque ghost; I’m not sure what this book is about, but I’m interested to see where this series is headed.

Like I said, plenty of books are coming out and I can’t wait to read them all, despite how busy I’m sure to be.

Leave a Reply

