Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Resolve to Read in 2013

TopTenTuesday

Diviners OutofSightOutofTime TheList Harbinger BeforeIFall ShutOut Ash StoryofUs DaughterofSmokeandBone Nevermore

1. The Diviners (Libba Bray)

I love Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy and Beauty Queens, so I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to this book yet. Well, I do actually know – it’s never at the library and I’m too poor to buy all the books I want. I’m thinking about getting my hands on Going Bovine as well, but first I’m going to try and get a hold of this book.

2. Out of Sight, Out of Mind (Ally Carter)

I really enjoy the Gallagher Girls series and am mad every time I go to the library and it’s not there. I plan on buying the paperback edition of this book because I’ve bought the first four in paperback and I’m not going to stop now, but normally I get the book from the library first, it just hasn’t been working out so far. I figure this book will continue the darkening tone of the series, but I think the series does it well.

3. The List (Siobhan Vivian)

I haven’t read any of Vivian’s books so this is going to be my introduction to her work, but yet again I just can’t find it at the library. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book so I really want to read it and maybe try out some of Vivian’s other books, but first I need to get my hands on this one.

4. Harbinger (Sara Wilson Etienne)

This was a debut from this year that sounded interesting, but I haven’t seen it anywhere and I haven’t really seen any reviews or online chatter about the book. It’s just going to remain on my to-read list until I can find it, but it’s starting to look difficult if I don’t buy it.

5. Before I Fall (Lauren Oliver)

I’ve heard some good things about this book, as well as good things about the second book in her dystopian trilogy, so I definitely plan on at least trying her books. Also, I feel like I’ve been reading a lot more contemporary books in the past year than I have in the two or so years before it, so this book seems like it would fit well.

6. Shut Out (Kody Keplinger)

When I first wrote this list, I hadn’t read Keplinger’s A Midsummer’s Nightmare, so this was mostly on the list because I wanted to give Keplinger’s much-praised storytelling skills a second chance after not being very impressed with her debut book. Even though I was yet again not very impressed with her third book, I’m going to try and read this book and any other books that sound interesting from her, but I’m becoming much more hesitant.

7. Ash (Malinda Lo)

I’ve heard good things about this book, which is apparently a “gay twist on Cinderella” or something along those lines. I don’t really know much else about this book but I definitely plan on checking it out.

8. The Story of Us (Deb Caletti)

I first read Caletti’s Stay in 2011 and loved it, and last year I read three more of her books and loved two and gave a four star to the third book. I want to read all the rest of her books, including her 2012 release, but it’s never at the library! (Are you noticing the pattern yet?)

9. Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Laini Taylor)

I’ve heard plenty of good things about this book and I remember being slightly interested in the premise, so I decided I might as well read the book and see if I’m interested.

10. Nevermore (Kelly Creagh)

Again, heard plenty of good things about this series and despite the fact that it seems like something I wouldn’t necessarily like, I think I should at least give it a chance after all the good things I’ve heard. Although it is quite large, something that I don’t really like anymore unless I already know I’ll like it. But I’m going to try to be open minded!

Leave a Reply

