The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker

LiarSocietyTitle: The Liar Society

Author: Lisa and Laura Roecker

Genre: Mystery

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 358

Rating: 4/5

Kate Lowry didn’t think dead best friends could send e-mails. But when she gets an e-mail from Grace, who died mysteriously a year before, she’s not so sure. When the emails continue, Kate is forced to confront her school’s resident druggie, a sketchy administrator, and even her own demons.
As Kate moves closer and closer to the truth, she teams up with a couple of knights-in-(not so)shining armor–the dangerously attractive, bad boy, Liam and her love-struck neighbor, Seth. The three uncover an ancient secret lurking in the halls of their elite private school with the power to destroy them all.
But the truth doesn’t always set you free. Sometimes it’s only the beginning.

As I started this book, I couldn’t help but notice how similar it was to another YA mystery series, Pretty Little Liars. Dead best friend who seems to be sending messages from beyond the grave, death was more than it seemed – just something about the story seemed to be a carbon copy, only with a pink-haired heroine as opposed to a group of girls more busy being naughty than searching for their friend’s killer. But after the initial similarity, the story developed much more than Pretty Little Liars (which, though I like the series, I have to admit isn’t great literature, more like guilty pleasure types of books). The characters were interesting, the mystery was well-thought-out and kept my attention, and it had a romance for me to actually root for.

Kate was a very interesting protagonist. I wished that we learned why she dyed her hair pink before the story started but it does make sense – she probably wanted change. Considering how she’s changed so much since her best friend died the previous year and her other best friend abandoned her, it’s quite realistic for her personality. Even though she has a crush on a boy and spends a lot of her time trying to solve the mystery surrounding her friend’s death, she’s also realistically grieving, something you don’t always see in books, movies, and TV shows that focus more on the mystery than the actual people. That grief makes Kate that much more realistic.

There are also plenty of boys in the book, both boys that are fleshed out and those that are a mystery to us. Sometimes I found it strange how much attention all the boys seemed to give to Kate, even though she wasn’t very popular and seemed to be a bit of an outcast. Despite that, I found all the guys interesting, especially Liam and Seth. The romance with Liam was a bit strange at times, but I found myself rooting for them after we learned more about Liam.

The mystery itself was quite creepy and fascinating. I found myself unable to put the book down, especially when it was late and night and I just had to know what killed Grace and just what was going on. When I found out, I was definitely surprised. And even though the mystery of her death was solved, it still left some things unknown, much like a real life mystery would. I can’t tell if it’s setting itself up for a sequel though.

Overall, this was a mystery that kept me guessing and glued to my seat until I could finish it and figure out what was going on. I feel like this story successfully completed Kate’s story, but I also feel like there’s more to tell about the secret societies that are unearthed in this book. I’m hoping to read more from this writing duo of two sisters, especially if it continues the story somehow, whether with Kate and company or a new host of characters.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

