Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

StarcrossedTitle: Starcrossed

Author: Josephine Angelini

Genre: Mythology/Paranormal/Romance

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 496

Rating: 3.5/5

How do you defy destiny?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is—no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.

This book left my fairly conflicted. On the one hand, there were many things that sort of ticked me off and otherwise would have caused me to put down a book, but on the other hand, I really enjoyed this book – not sure how it’s possible to feel both emotions in relation to this book but that’s the way it is.

I’m unsure how I feel about Helen. She’s a bit awkward – extremely terrified of attention, and a tad whiny and overdramatic at times. Plus, she’s really unusual but sometimes I feel like the book didn’t address it much, almost like she was normal, even though she could run way faster than humanly possible plus she was super-strong. Yet I still was interested in hearing her tale and found myself sort of rooting for her, although half-heartedly at times.

Once the Delos family entered the picture, things got even stranger. For one thing, the very first time Helen sees Lucas she (slight spoiler) runs up to him and tries to attack/kill him! This left me so confused, as well as the rest of the encounters between Helen and the Delos family. She never seemed to find it completely unusual that she wanted to kill a bunch of people that she’s never met before. Once it’s explained, it’s a bit more understandable and they all get along better, but until then I felt very lost.

I also couldn’t help but notice how similar this seemed to be to Twilight. Now, I’ve never read the series, only about half of the first book, but I read a hilarious online summary of all four books (on Sparknotes), and I couldn’t help but notice how similar it was. Two people who love each other but can’t be together, a family of unusual people, a slightly whiny protagonist (although not nearly as bad as Bella, from what I’ve heard)… I feel like this was a main reason that I still had trouble loving this book after things became less confused. Not to mention the book was written in third person, which for some reason I just get annoyed with and have trouble getting used to when reading. But despite these misgivings, I did find plenty to like about the book.

My favorite thing has got to be some of the characters. I don’t know why, but I really enjoyed the background characters (especially Hector, Ariadne, and Jason), although not all of them (sorry Claire, but you just annoyed me). It was interesting to see the Delos family, especially as Helen became part of the group so they were actually nice. Hector was probably my favorite, even though he could be quite a jerk. After the ending, though, I feel horrible for him and I’m slightly peeved that Hector was put in this situation, although I won’t say anymore so as not to spoil it.

So, to sum up this slightly-all-over-the-place review, I did enjoy Starcrossed, even though I had a fair bit of minor problems with it plus the similarity to Twilight make me want to avoid it. Despite the mixed feelings, I can’t wait to find out what happens in the next book, if only to see if Josephine Angelini makes her story a bit more original and to know what happens to the characters that I’ve begun to feel a slight attachment to…

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

