Skulduggery Pleasant: Mortal Coil by Derek Landy

Skulduggery5Title: Skulduggery Pleasant: Mortal Coil

Author: Derek Landy

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Pages: 572

Rating: 5/5

Following the shocking revelations of DARK DAYS, get ready for the fifth instalment of the bestselling Skulduggery Pleasant series — guaranteed to contain at least 40% humour, 50% action, and 100% thrills! “The blonde girl with the black lips turned to Valkyrie. ‘We know,’ she said. ‘We’ve seen the future. We know you’re going to kill the world!'” Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain are back — just in time to see their whole world get turned upside down! While they struggle to protect a known killer from an unstoppable assassin, Valkyrie is on a secret mission of her own. This quest, to prevent her dark and murderous destiny, threatens to take her to the brink of death and beyond. And then the body-snatching Remnants get loose, thousands of twisted souls who possess the living like puppets, and they begin their search for a being powerful enough to lead them. Facing such insurmountable odds, Skulduggery, Valkyrie, Ghastly and Tanith can trust no one. Not even each other!

This will probably be a short review – after all, it’s so much easier to say why you hate something rather than love something, and I love the Skulduggery Pleasant series. Even though the ending left one of my favorite characters MIA and completely different than her normal self (there’s a hint – the character is female, but that’s all I’ll say), I still loved this book. It brought back some characters I know and love and introduced some new ones that made the story interesting. It was full of action and twists, and fleshed out the story even better, especially in terms of the Death Bringer, who was introduced last book and is further elaborated upon during the next book, which will be the next review. Of course, this book’s main focus isn’t the Death Bringer – instead, it’s about some freaky Remnants who were first partially introduced in the last book and made a huge appearance in this book.

Even though I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars, I had some minor problems with it (yes, I gave it a perfect score even though I don’t consider it completely perfect – I think I’m allowed to bump it up on love of the series alone, not to mention this is my opinion, so there), so I’ll quickly mention those. For instance, Valkyrie occasionally has moments where she seems less like a heroic young girl who’s done great things – instead, she can be a bit of a bratty teenage girl who thinks overly high of herself. Of course, those moments are few (unfortunately, this is a lot more noticeable in the next book, but I still love her), so it doesn’t bother me too much. After all, she’s had plenty of craziness in her life the past few years, so I think she’s entitled to be a bratty teenager sometime. It irritates me how she sometimes takes Fletcher for granted and makes some bad decisions regarding her relationship (yes, I love Fletcher and the partially-random romance among the action and adventure of the books – I don’t care if it seems sort of silly), but yet again it isn’t too bad in this book, but gets a bit worse during the next one. (Sorry, I read these books about two or three months ago, so they’re sort of blending together)

Despite those minor problems, I loved this book. It only took about two days to read, despite its huge size (almost 600 pages!), so I consider that a good sign in regards to this book. I can’t wait to read the next book, which comes out sometime this year, I think. In the meantime, enjoy the next book’s review, which should be up soon.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

