Skulduggery Pleasant: Death Bringer by Derek Landy

Skulduggery6Title: Skulduggery Pleasant: Death Bringer

Author: Derek Landy

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: HarperCollins Ome

Pages: 602

Rating: 5/5

The sixth instalment in the historic, hysterical and horrific Skulduggery Pleasant series. Think you’ve seen anything yet? You haven’t. Because the Death Bringer is about to rise! The Necromancers no longer need Valkyrie to be their Death Bringer, and that’s a Good Thing. There’s just one catch. There’s a reason the Necromancers don’t need her any more. And that’s because they’ve found their Death Bringer already, the person who will dissolve the doors between life and death. And that’s a very, very Bad Thing!

Like the review for the last book, this will be a bit of a short review, because I loved this book and I read it awhile ago at this point. As the sixth book in the series, it’s possible that it could be a bit boring, trying to stretch the series beyond what’s necessary in order to get more money, but I don’t think that’s the case. This book manages to have just as many twists and turns as the previous five, not to mention retain its dry humor and wit that I really love about this series. If you read the review for the last book (which you really should – I don’t feel like repeating everything that I said in that one, so chances are there’ll be more information in that one that isn’t mentioned here), you’ll know that some of the minor problems I had with the last book were bigger in this book, but by the end I was happy with the way it ended up and my love for the series as a whole was too much for me to disgrace it with a measly 4.5 stars.

Valkyrie continued her descent into bratty teenage territory, but overall she was her regular sarcastic, stubborn self. Relationship issues had a bigger part in this book than the previous ones, a certain brooding vampire from the last two books became especially broody and a bit dangerous, and one of my favorite characters that disappeared at the end of the last book didn’t manage to make a reappearance. The intensity of the issue of the Death Bringer more than made up for any problems, though, because I cared about the story. It didn’t matter when characters annoyed me – they mostly annoyed me because I cared about them and was unhappy when they made stupid mistakes. But, like I said, the ending began to patch things up in a way that led me to believe things will be basically back to normal in the next book.

There were plenty of shocks in this book, and it was, as always, entertaining. This continues to be one of my favorite series, and if the books continue to be as good as they have been, then it’ll remain so.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

