Die For Me by Amy Plum

DieForMeTitle: Die For Me

Author: Amy Plum

Genre: Paranormal/Romance

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 341

Rating: 4/5

My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia, and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy, and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies . . . immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

While I’m fighting to piece together the remnants of my life, can I risk putting my heart—as well as my life and my family’s—in jeopardy for a chance at love?

I wasn’t sure what to expect coming into this book. I had added it to my to-read list on Goodreads a long time ago, perhaps even at the end of 2010, back when it had a different cover (though this cover is pretty, I think I preferred the other, with the girl riding in a boat, perhaps a gondola, facing the reader rather than away). When I saw this book at the library, I decided to give it a shot, since I’d been wanting to read it for a while. The synopsis didn’t make me very anxious to give it a try, though – it seemed to focus way too much on a romance that didn’t sound very healthy. Despite that, I read the book anyway. And, though it started slow, I began to enjoy the book, at least enough for me to want to read the sequel when it comes out.

The beginning was a bit irregular – it involved Kate, the main character, trying to adjust to life in France with her grandparents after her parents were killed in a car crash. Kate was, understandably, depressed about it all, but her sullen mood didn’t exactly make for an interesting start. The introduction of the love interest and his group of ‘special friends’ was strange, leaving me quite confused as to what was happening. I stuck with it, though, and things began to get better once the secret wasn’t so secret anymore. The end was the most interesting part, full of a lot more action that the beginning would have led the reader to expect.

I wasn’t too sure about the romance. It was sweet at times, but there would be annoying times where they were broken up and pining for each other. Not to mention there was another flirty character who seemed like he could become a third corner of a love triangle in the future, although it was hard to tell if that would be the case or not (although I’m kind of hoping it will be – that guy is funny). Either way, I enjoyed the book more when it focused on the ‘family’ of ‘special people’ rather than the relationship between Kate and Vincent.

This leads to a similarity I couldn’t help but notice. Like another book I read previously this year, I thought there were some similarities to Twilight. I’ve never actually read the books, but I’ve certainly read enough summaries of them (all complaining about the books in very humorous ways) to know what happens in them, and one of the main features was that of a supernatural ‘family’ that isn’t actually related, but are connected because of special powers. The love interest is the only one who has never really been in love, and the main character has some special ability related to their own powers. This is only the first book, though, so I hope that the next book will grow apart from Twilight, or at least become a much better version of it.

In the end, I enjoyed this book a lot more than I figured I would. There are some things for the next book to grow on, but a decent debut. Now if only they had kept that original cover…

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

