Afterlife by Claudia Gray

AfterlifeTitle: Afterlife

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Paranormal/Romance/Vampire

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 360

Rating: 4/5

Destiny awaits Bianca and Lucas . . .
Bianca and Lucas have always believed they could endure anything to be together. When a twist of fate not only transforms Bianca into a wraith but also turns Lucas into a vampire—the very creature he spent his life hunting—they are left reeling.
Haunted by his powerful need to kill, Lucas can turn to only one place for help . . . Evernight Academy. Bianca is determined to remain with him. But with the vampire leader of Evernight waging a war against wraiths, her former home has become the most dangerous place she could be, despite the new powers her ghostly transformation has given her.
A battle between wraiths and vampires looms, and Bianca and Lucas face a terrifying new reality. They’ve overcome every obstacle life has thrown at them, but is their love strong enough to survive the challenges after life?

For the past couple of years, the Evernight series has been one of my guilty pleasure series – not exactly ground-breaking literature, but still a cut above a lot of vampire book series floating around out there, especially one involving sparkling vampires (hmm, I wonder what I could be referring to…). Each book got better than the previous one and I found myself connecting with these interesting characters, from the vampires to the humans to the wraiths. Bianca grew from the young girl she was at the beginning of the first book to the (slight spoiler if you didn’t read the third book) dead woman she seems to be by the end of this book. Sure, she’s probably about seventeen in this book but she seems more mature than a lot of adults portrayed in YA books seem to be.

After the cliff hanger ending of the last book, I was interested to see how the series would be wrapped up in this book. This paragraph may contain some spoilers from the past three books, so proceed with caution if you haven’t read them and don’t want to be spoiled. Anyway, we finally learned why Mrs. Bethanny started enrolling haunted students and what she wanted with the wraiths. We also met Christopher and learned some interesting secrets that I admit I didn’t see coming (okay, I saw one coming, but that’s because I accidently saw it when I was checking to see when the chapter ended). Maybe I was being oblivious (I probably do that a lot), but nonetheless I had lots of fun trying to figure out what was going on along with Bianca.

One of my favorite things was the fact that we got to return to Evernight, along with some of my favorite characters – Balthazar, Ranulf, Vic, and Patrice. I missed Patrice for the past two books, but Vic and Ranulf’s parts were becoming increasingly bigger over the past few books and luckily they continued to display fairly prominently in this book. Balthazar has had some pretty big parts recently but in this book his role was scaled down slightly, although I was happy to see that he still managed to show up frequently in this book. I can’t wait for the book by Claudia Gray that focuses solely on Balthazar – it’ll definitely be in my to-read pile!

Overall, I was quite happy with this book – it was a great ending to a series that started out well and increasingly become better. I can’t wait to see more from Claudia Gray – I’ve already read the synopsis of her next book, and it apparently takes place in 1912 on the infamous Titanic and involves werewolves – could be totally cheesy, but based on how Gray changed my mind about certain vampire stories, I have fairly good hopes. In the meantime, I’ll just have to get my vampire fix from the fabulous CW show Vampire Diaries.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

