The Julian Game by Adele Griffin

JulianGameTitle: The Julian Game

Author: Adele Griffin

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Pages: 200

Rating: 3.5/5

All new girl Raye Archer wants is a way into the in crowd, so when ice-queen Ella Parker picks her to get back at her ex, the gorgeous Julian Kilgarry, Raye is more than game. Even if it means creating a fake Facebook identity so she can learn enough about Julian to sabotage him. It’s a fun and dangerous thrill at first, but Raye hadn’t counted on falling for Julian herself and igniting Ella’s rage. As Raye works to reconcile the temptress Elizabeth with her real-life self, Ella serves up her own revenge, creating an online smear campaign of nasty rumors and trashy photographs. Suddenly notorious, Raye has to find a way out of the web of deceit that she’s helped to build, and back to the relationships that matter. Adele Griffin’s riveting novel explores the issues of generation Facebook: the desire to be someone else, real versus online friends, and the pitfalls and fallouts of posting your personal life online for all the world to judge.

When I first read about this book, I was instantly intrigued. It was an interesting premise, the problems that can sprout from online relationships. It sounded like it could be a really deep book that really pulls on your heartstrings, or at least catches your attention completely.

I’m not sure if this book quite did that, but I did enjoy it. It was a lot shorter than I had thought it was going to be – only 200 pages, exactly – which meant the story was a bit more compressed than I had thought it was going to be, but I think Griffin managed to wrap the story up well in that short timespan. The beginning of the book was a little slow for me, without a lot of focus, but I thought it really picked up a little after half-way, which may sound like it’s too far into the story, but when a book is this short it doesn’t take that long to get to the good stuff. And once I got to the really interesting parts, like when the bullying kicks in, the pages flew by and I finished the book quickly.

I feel like the characters could have been fleshed out better, especially characters like Henry Henry and Natalya. Maybe if the story had been longer, it would have been easier to go farther into the characters, but considering the size of the book I think there was a lot about the characters.

This is definitely one of my shorter reviews, but I think it matches the length of the book. Overall, I really enjoyed this book, even though it wasn’t as deep as I thought it was going to be.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

