Stargazer by Claudia Gray

StargazerTitle: Stargazer

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Paranormal/Romance/Vampire

Publisher: HarperCollins Publisher

Pages: 329

Rating: 3.5/5

The vampire in me was closer to the surface . . .
Evernight Academy: an exclusive boarding school for the most beautiful, dangerous students of all—vampires. Bianca, born to two vampires, has always been told her destiny is to become one of them.
But Bianca fell in love with Lucas—a vampire hunter sworn to destroy her kind. They were torn apart when his true identity was revealed, forcing him to flee the school.
Although they may be separated, Bianca and Lucas will not give each other up. She will risk anything for the chance to see him again, even if it means coming face-to-face with the vampire hunters of Black Cross—or deceiving the powerful vampires of Evernight. Bianca’s secrets will force her to live a life of lies.
Yet Bianca isn’t the only one keeping secrets. When Evernight is attacked by an evil force that seems to target her, she discovers the truth she thought she knew is only the beginning. . . .

This review was also written back when I first read the book, in early 2010, so when I mention the next book comes out in March, I meant March 2010, so you can read the next book already – in fact, I just read it and will hopefully have the review for it up later today or sometime soon. In the meantime, enjoy hearing about my first thoughts of this book, back when I first read it.

I’m happy to say that this is a sequel that surpasses the first book. For me, Evernight was a very enjoyable book, and this book managed to be better than that. I still had some problems with it, but they were smaller and I found myself caring less about them. I read this book even faster than the first one and its pacing was better, which helped solve one of the problems I had with the first book. I can’t wait until I get my hands on the next book, which should be out in March, I believe.

Lucas, one of the main characters from the first book, is missing a lot during this book, but I didn’t mind too much – it makes the parts with him mean more than if he was in nearly every scene. After all, absence makes the heart grow fonder. This also allowed for more time with Balthazar, a very interesting character, and put a spotlight on his changing relationship with Bianca, something that probably wouldn’t have happened if Lucas was more prominent. Even though I love the coupling of Bianca and Lucas, I can’t help but love the idea of Bianca and Balthazar, too. Definitely a bit of a love triangle that I wouldn’t mind going either way, although I’m pretty sure that it’s obvious who Bianca is going to end up with.

There were also some bigger parts for minor characters from the first book. Ranulf, who has to be one of my favorite characters in this series, managed to pop up more, something that always left me smiling and laughing. Sadly Patrice wasn’t in this book, but hopefully she’ll be in the next book.

I had a little problem with this book though: sometimes Bianca could be really blind. She was unable to figure out why humans had begun to come to Evernight again, even when it was so obvious that I wanted to reach into the book, shake her, and yell at her until she figured it out. But for the most part Bianca is a very likable character who I find myself enjoying reading about.

Luckily, any problems I had with this book were quite small and I managed to overlook them, eclipsed by the fact that I loved this book and can’t wait for the next one! This series is definitely becoming a guilty pleasure of mine to read, which is surprising because a part of me wanted to dislike this series just because of the vampire thing. Luckily, it’s helped me realize that vampire books can be so much better than others, like a certain overhyped one I could mention…

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

