Skulduggery Pleasant: The Faceless Ones by Derek Landy

Skulduggery3Title: Skulduggery Pleasant: The Faceless Ones

Author: Derek Landy

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: HarperCollins

Pages: 423

Rating: 5/5

Valkyrie screamed, sprinting toward Skulduggery.
He looked up and reached out to her, but it was too late. . . .
If you’ve read the other Skulduggery Pleasant books by Derek Landy (and you really should have read them by now), you’ve seen it all before: Some bad guy wants to bring about the end of the world, and Skulduggery and Valkyrie fight valiantly to stop it from happening. A few people get hurt, sure, but everything’s all right in the end.
Well, not this time.

Just like the past two books in the series, this is a review based on when I recently reread the series about two weeks ago – but the review for the next book, the fourth one will be based on my first impressions, since I just read it! But, until then, here’s my review of the third book…
All of the main characters return in this thrilling addition to the series, full of the same fast wit and incredible pacing. This time, though, Skulduggery and Valkyrie aren’t working for the Sanctuary – they’re stuck doing things on their own after the events of the last book (read that to find out what I’m talking about). Luckily, Skulduggery and Valkyrie still have the same people helping them, which is really important since there are new bad guys in town, and this time they really mean business. I’m happy to say that my favorite villain, Billy-Ray Sanguine, has returned and he’s as full of quips and daggers and usual. His bosses that we first read about at the end of the last book are now introduced and the man running it all, Batu, remains shrouded in mystery as Skulduggery and Valkyrie hurry to figure out who’s murdering all the Teleporters.
Lucky for me, there’s one left – a slightly egotistical teenage boy who’s obsessed with his hair: Fletcher Renn. Skulduggery and Valkyrie may get annoyed by him but I find his annoying traits quite amusing and entertaining to read about. When I first read this I also tried reading between the lines and I have hope that there may be a possible romance in the air involving Fletcher and Valkyrie (this is based off of my original thoughts, so don’t think that it means it’s true, because my instinct can certainly be wrong). Fletcher is a character that I definitely want to see more of.
The mystery itself is very compelling, too – I kept reading, hoping to find out who Batu was and what was going on. When the identity is finally revealed, I’ll admit it – I didn’t see it coming at all, though it does make sense. It’s not like one of those annoying solutions that are next to impossible and that’s why I didn’t expect it, so I am definitely happy with the mystery. And then there’s always magic and all of that fun fantasy stuff, not to mention the fighting scenes.
The only problem I have with this book is the ending – I don’t want such a nail-biting cliff-hanger when the next book isn’t even out yet! Of course, I’ve since read the book, since it was a little while since I read the first three books. If you liked the first two books you’ll definitely enjoy this continuation of the book, and I’m sure you’ll be on the edge of your seat just as much as I was when I turned the last page.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

