Hourglass by Claudia Gray

HourglassTitle: Hourglass

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Paranormal/Romance/Vampire

Publisher: HarperCollins Publisher

Pages: 339

Rating: 4/5

Bianca has found refuge again with the Black Cross, and she and Lucas work desperately to keep her secret. In this company, being a vampire is a death sentence, and the two of them live and train alongside the hunters without anyone noticing her increasing need for blood.
Even though she’s with the boy she loves more than anyone else in the world, Bianca can’t help worrying about the family and friends she left behind. Caught between three feuding worlds, it’s starting to feel as though she’ll never be entirely at peace again.
When another betrayal puts the lovers in mortal danger once more, they realise that all they truly have is one another. But with the secret of Bianca’s birth taking hold, not even Lucas can help her win her toughest fight.

It’s been a while since I read the first two books in this series, and I didn’t want to reread them just to understand everything going on in this book, so when I started reading there were some aspects that left me confused because I didn’t remember completely. But even though I was confused at times, it was written so that I was able to figure everything out fairly well without too much frustration and I was able to just jump into the story for the most part. But at the same time it didn’t restate everything that had happened, which is a pet peeve of mine when I’m reading sequels and later books in series.

Now onto the story itself. I feel like the pacing was really good throughout this book – I was always forced to turn the page to see what else happened. I couldn’t wait for them to get away from the vampire hunters because there wasn’t a whole lot that was happening there, but I was still very interested when reading those parts so I didn’t mind it too much. One of the only things that annoyed me about that part was Raquel. I know I should feel bad for her – she’s had a pretty crappy life – and I appreciate how the author fleshes this character out by putting her in a relationship that’s written not to shock but because it’s just natural for the characters (hope that isn’t too spoilery or confusing). But Raquel just gets under my skin for some reason and I wish she was in the book less. But luckily once they left Black Cross Raquel managed to stay away from the main action.

I liked how there was plenty of action, but still bits of romance as Lucas and Bianca get the chance to spend more time together. There’s also the mystery of what’s going to happen to Bianca if she doesn’t become a vampire, which is now her plan. I probably should have seen what the outcome was ahead of time, but when it came I admit I was surprised and felt that it was a great twist, but one that made sense.

But, as always, one of my favorite parts is the secondary characters. Balthazar was in it once again, something that always makes me happy (although he was being tortured in the first part so that wasn’t so good). But the best part? Vic and Ranulf had a bigger part than normal, especially in the end, and with the way the story ended I think they’ll still have a big part in the next book, which is the last one! I love these characters so much – I would love to read another book about just them, it’d be so entertaining! Sadly, Patrice has yet again been missing, but if I had to choose between her and the bromance of Vic and Ranulf I would choose the latter.

Overall, I feel like this is the best book so far, and I can’t wait to see what the last book in the series is like. The ending to this book is definitely a cliff hanger and I can’t wait to find out when the last book comes out in March. And if Claudia Gray’s writing style continues to grow the way it has been, then it’ll be the best book yet!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

