Evernight by Claudia Gray

EvernightTitle: Evernight

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Paranormal/Romance/Vampire

Publisher: HarperCollins Publisher

Pages: 336

Rating: 3/5

Bianca wants to escape.
She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.
Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the “Evernight type” either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.
“I couldn’t stand it if they took it out on you,” he tells Bianca, “and eventually they would.”
But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed.

Before you read this, I have a small note: this review was written back in early 2010, when I first read this book. My feelings haven’t changed but I feel like I should mention that because I speak in present tense but it’s from a while ago. Unimportant but oh well, read on…

I read a review about this book on another book review site, and despite the good review, I was still wary about reading this book, mainly because of its subject: VAMPIRES. I tried reading Twilight before the movie came out, but I just couldn’t get into it, and chalked it up to a lost cause. And then after vampire mania exploded, mostly centering around Twilight, my opinion of vampire books plunged. I didn’t want to come across as some annoying fan girl who gushes about how cute Robert Pattinson is (even though I think he looks pretty bad, definitely when he’s so pale in the movie). I’ve tried to keep my distance from vampire books since then but I finally decided to give this book a shot and see if it was good enough to change my opinion of vampire books. And I’m happy to say that this book did that well.

But at first the book went slowly and I got a bit bored with the book. I had to force myself to keep reading, but I feel that I was rewarded for that perseverance. The action started to speed up towards the middle, and then I finished the rest of the book in one night, ignoring the fact that I had to get up for school in about six hours. I still had some problems with this book, though, which is why the rate isn’t as high as it could have been. There’s a huge secret that’s revealed in an interesting way, but then I feel like it’s handled badly. The rest of the story continues with the idea that the secret was always known, only hidden from the reader. It’s hard to describe without giving too much away but if you were to read it you would probably understand what I was saying.

Despite this, I still enjoyed this book immensely. I guess it’s sort of a guilty pleasure book because it’s not something I would come out right away to say that I love but I really do think that it’s a well-written, entertaining book. I can’t wait for the next book, which is luckily already out, although I hope that it picks up with the action sooner than this book did. I’m happy to say that I greatly liked this book, even though it’s about vampires.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

